Brian Daniel and the car sale

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
To: “brian.daniel399@yahoo.com” <brian.daniel399@yahoo.com>
Sent: Monday, March 11, 2013 7:06 PM
Subject: Sale of my car

Hi Brian,

I received a text message regarding the sale of my car on Gumtree. You’ve asked what my lowest price is and the condition of the car, but I was wondering if you’d like to arrange an inspection of it first as it seems a bit odd to me that you’d be interested in purchasing it without seeing it.

Kind regards,
Marlene

Date: Mon, 11 Mar 2013 20:38:14 -0700
From: brian.daniel399@yahoo.com
Subject: Re: Sale of my car
To: Marlene Hildebrandt

Due to the nature of my job and my location i will not be able to come for inspection am a very busy type as i work long hours everyday,i don’t really think i need to come for a look, because i have gone through your advertisement and i am satisfied with it so i will call you when am chanced from work but as of now we can be chatting online or sending emails.

And can you please confirm to me again that it is in very good with no fault?

So please just tell me the last price you could go for and condition? may be we can go from there.

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
Date: Tue, 12 Mar 2013 14:05:42 +1000
To: Brian Daniel<brian.daniel399@yahoo.com>
Subject: RE: Sale of my car

Hi Brian,

I’m happy to correspond via e-mail since you’re busy. I can assure you that the car is in great condition. I even managed to get it started this morning! The lowest price I could go for would be $1000, but then I’d be rather disappointed so I’d like to get the highest price really. But we can talk about this. Whereabouts are you located?

Regards,
Marlene

Subject: Re: Sale of my car
To: Marlene Hildebrandt
From: brian.daniel399@yahoo.com
Date: Tue, 12 Mar 2013 04:23:21 +0000

ok no problem i will be paying you $1,000 with my PayPal account because it’s
attached to my bank account and its safe and very secure way to make
payment. If my mode of payment is accepted just send me your paypal
email address,(Paypal ID) or send me paypal payment request so i can pay in right away. Make sure you get back to me so that i can make the payment. I have a private courier agent that will handle the shipping after payments has been made, so no shipping included. OR better still you can just send me your bank account details and the payment will be made into your bank account asap.

And if you dont have a paypal account, you can easily go to
http://www.paypal.com and sign up. its very easy. i will call you later
I await your reply asap.

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
To: “brian.daniel399@yahoo.com” <brian.daniel399@yahoo.com>
Sent: Tuesday, March 12, 2013 10:12 PM
Subject: RE: Sale of my car

Hi Brian,

Thank you for your offer, but I haven’t actually agreed to this price yet. You asked me what would be the lowest price and I told you, but I just spoke to my neighbour and he told me he’d give me $1500 if it would mean getting the car off a section of his front lawn. There was more to what he said, words like “rustbucket” and “death trap”, but I think that’s irrelevant.

I’m also curious about the shipping you spoke of. Are you not local? I’m not sure if sending the car via sea would be wise as the salt spray could increase the rust in the car. As I’ve discovered, a few coats of paint does tend to make the rust disappear, so I guess that’s an option. If it would be cheaper for you I could always have the car delivered to you in pieces. Yesterday the driver’s side door fell off and almost killed my neighbour’s cat. I’ve managed to fix the door back in place with some super strong duct tape, so it’s really as good as new.

I don’t have a PayPal account, nor do I keep my money in a bank. I just don’t trust them. My husband, God rest his soul, was seriously screwed over by the banks. There was one time he was charged $10 for having his account overdrawn and we couldn’t afford that week’s TV guide, which resulted in us missing Muriel’s Wedding on channel 9. We were both so upset.

Regards,
Marlene

Date: Tue, 12 Mar 2013 22:19:18 -0700
From: brian.daniel399@yahoo.com
Subject: Re: Sale of my car
To: Marlene Hildebrandt

ok i will pay you $1,600 so you can just try and send me your bank account details so that i can use it to make payment for you as that is the best way to make the payment

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
To: Brian Daniel <brian.daniel399@yahoo.com>
Sent: Tuesday, March 12, 2013 11:31 PM
Subject: RE: Sale of my car

Hi Brian,

You, sir, have yourself a deal! I told my neighbour that I had a better offer and he said he didn’t care as long as “that unsightly heap of shit” is gone from our street. Personally I don’t know what he’s talking about as the car has performed so well for the past 27 years. Granted it’s been sitting on top of cement blocks for the past 8 months but the kids love to sit in it and pretend they’re driving. I just don’t like it when they play a game called DUI and act as though they’re drunk and running over hookers. I blame video games and rap music for this.

As I mentioned I don’t actually have a bank account. I keep all my cash in the third drawer down beside my bed. I find there are too many people on the Internet who would use bank account details for various scams, so I find it best to avoid the risk. I’m sorry for this, but I’m sure you understand that it’s the fault of those few bad apples who make it difficult for decent, honest businessmen such as yourself. Is there any chance you could mail me a money order or something along those lines?

Regards,
Marlene

Date: Wed, 13 Mar 2013 00:25:07 -0700
From: brian.daniel399@yahoo.com
Subject: Re: Sale of my car
To: Marlene Hildebrandt

no i cant do that

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
To: Brian Daniel <brian.daniel399@yahoo.com>
Sent: Wednesday, March 13, 2013 12:36 AM
Subject: RE: Sale of my car

Why not? Is there some other way you could pay me?

Date: Wed, 13 Mar 2013 01:21:09 -0700
From: brian.daniel399@yahoo.com
Subject: Re: Sale of my car
To: Marlene Hildebrandt

i can only do paypal or make payment into your bank account

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
To: Brian Daniel <brian.daniel399@yahoo.com>
Sent: Wednesday, March 13, 2013 1:27 AM
Subject: RE: Sale of my car

Perhaps I’ll create a bank account tomorrow then, if you can guarantee me 100% that you’re completely honest and trustworthy.

Whereabouts are you writing from? I’m just concerned that it’s going to cost a lot to ship the car over to you.

Date: Wed, 13 Mar 2013 01:47:12 -0700
From: brian.daniel399@yahoo.com
Subject: Re: Sale of my car
To: Marlene Hildebrandt

ok i will be waiting for the bank account details for the payment to be made

For you to have my record and to be sure of the person you are dealing
with i will provide my personal details for you

Brian Daniel

14065832 issued in QLD
19 robinson avenue perth 6000

D.O.B : 22-06-77

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
Sent: Wednesday, 13 March 2013 8:01:02 PM
To: Brian Daniel (brian.daniel399@yahoo.com)

Hi Brian,

Thank you for the information, but I think you’ve written it down wrong. You’ve given me the address for the All Seasons Hotel in Robinson Avenue. Could you please send the correct info?

Thank you,
Marlene

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
Sent: Thursday, 14 March 2013 9:24:27 AM
To: Brian Daniel (brian.daniel399@yahoo.com)

Good morning Brian,

I have spoken to a friend who is willing to help me out with his PayPal account. Have you sorted out that issue with your address yet? Once we clear that up I’ll send you the details.

Regards,
Marlene

From: Marlene Hildebrandt
Sent: Friday, 15 March 2013 10:37:27 AM
To: Brian Daniel (brian.daniel399@yahoo.com)

Hello?

3 thoughts on “Brian Daniel and the car sale

  1. Hi. I got the same thing yesterday …. a text message to my phone from “car inquiry” with no number visible (how does he do that?). Email follow up very keen to part with 37000 for my Kluger. Clearly a scam me thinks.

  2. the same guy was interested in buying my car and wanted to pay 5 grand without even seeing it haha. lets see where i can take this email conversation with him though

Leave a Reply

